The draw for the qualifications for the 2022 FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup in Costa Rica was held on Monday, May 10, 2021, at the headquarters of the Confederation of African Football (CAF) in Cairo.

In the first round of the qualifying matches, Tunisia will play against Mauritania and Niger will play against Benin while South Sudan will play against Rwanda. A total of 40 teams are expected to take part in these qualifiers in five rounds (two legs). This creates a new record of participation in the qualifying stages of the World Cup within the Continent so far.

The teams will be vying to be part of a duo to represent Africa at the next U-20 Women’s World Cup in Costa Rica in 2022. Below are some fixtures from the first-round draw.

Djibouti – Eritrea
South Sudan – Rwanda
Eswatini – Mozambique
Mauritania – Tunisia
Niger – Benin
Togo – Mali
DR Congo – Sao Tome
Equatorial Guinea – Central African Republic.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here